Thinking of making the move...

Only start topics in this area if you are applying for a Highways Agency post. If not please use a different area!
barras99
Rookie Member

Thinking of making the move...

Post by barras99 » Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:08 pm

I'm a Police Officer thinking of making the move over. Are there are ex-Police out there that have made this move?
In particular, the Team Manager seems an intereting role. The advert mentions the starting salary, but is it the first point of a pay scale or is that the whole story?
I believe the role Operational Manager is above the Team Manager post. Can anyone spread any light on that role, salary etc.

I have my own reasons for leaving the Police, mostly its changed beyond all recognition and I don't get any kind of satisfaction from it any more. So rather than sit and complain about it, I'm searching out other position alternatives.

Thanks

Bob Parr
Elite Legion
Elite Legion

Re: Thinking of making the move...

Post by Bob Parr » Thu Nov 26, 2009 1:44 pm

Hiya and welcome to the site, there are several ex BiB including myself ex PCSO.

I had a colleague who retired after 30 years and started with me he was an AI PC he loves it that he has no stress and just patrols and deals with incidents with no paperwork

As far as pay goes the salary does rise just not very much

barras99
Rookie Member

Post by barras99 » Thu Nov 26, 2009 3:34 pm

Is there anywhere on the web I can see the payscales for the posts of Traffic Officer, Team Manager and Operational Manager?
Also, overtime is mentioned. Is it generally for stopping on shift longer than expected? or for working days off due to short staffing?

Bob Parr
Elite Legion
Elite Legion

Post by Bob Parr » Thu Nov 26, 2009 4:47 pm

There is more information here http://www.highways.gov.uk/jobs/14707.aspx

As for overtime it's both we also get it for adverse weather ie high winds as we have a couple of high level bridges on my part

Nighthawk
Elite Legion
Elite Legion