questions you were afraid to ask but really need to ask

Site slow? Links not leading to the right place? Sloppy design? Inaccurate text? we want to know!!

Moderator: R C C

User avatar
falkor
Navigator
Navigator
Posts: 3184
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:48 pm
Class: 'Ranger Varient'
Location: Surrey

questions you were afraid to ask but really need to ask

Post: # 11322Post falkor
Sat Feb 24, 2007 10:50 pm

are you:

a BASIC LEVEL user OR

ADVANCED ?
Blackrat wrote:Flash, how do you put a link and rename it like you have done above?
we cannot know everything about how to do stuff on this site, there is just too much to do :twisted:

RECOMMENDATION

if you have just joined the site then definitely read the BASIC USER stuff shown above

if you are a hardened member like Blackrat and Flash then please do read up on the advanced stuff too, the sections are actually pretty brief but I'll bet you'll spot something handy in the first couple of minutes! :wink:

User avatar
Flash
Committee Member
Committee Member
Posts: 536
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:47 pm
Contact:

Post: # 11359Post Flash
Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:35 pm

:lol: I bet you wonder why I am laughing!?! :lol:

That is because I am really Computer Illiterate.......no honestly!! :oops:

Well in saying that I obviously get by :wink:

I actually had to ask Charl_Hunter how to rename a link, as I didn't have a clue.................Another brownie point to Charl :D Thank you Mr Charl!

But thats what it is all about, IF you dont know.......Read Up On It!.......If that does not help then just ASK!! Once I did it, it was easy, so when Blackrat asked me how to do it....I could tell him......now he knows!!! and so on!

No one is going to make you feel silly just because you dont know how to do something!! I look silly without that against me :lol:

'The answer to a question is only simple........IF YOU KNOW IT'! :wink:

Thanks Falk, great thread!! :wink:
.
.
Proud to be part of National Traffic!!!!!

User avatar
Charl_Hunter
Committee Member
Committee Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:06 pm
Class: 'Undead Hunter'
Alignment: 'Shadow'

Post: # 11388Post Charl_Hunter
Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:41 pm

Fantastic post Falk!! And don't forget that if you think you might want to reference to it in the future to remind yourself how to do things then you can click "BookMark" (in the top left of the header) to add it to your site bookmarks for quick and easy future viewing. :D
Swatted

User avatar
falkor
Navigator
Navigator
Posts: 3184
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:48 pm
Class: 'Ranger Varient'
Location: Surrey

Post: # 12707Post falkor
Tue Mar 13, 2007 10:35 am

Charl_Hunter wrote:Ok, so for arguements sake I am going to upload a picture to this post and its off my phone which always comes out huge, if I attach it it will come out a reasonable size and wont cause the screen to be huge and scroll?
Hi Charl :( sorry, for images in posts, there is a maximum width of 600, otherwise there is a danger that scrolls will happen - depending on users computer capabilities/ settings

resizing images above 600 will be necessary in such cases, before they are added to our posts :wink:

User avatar
Popeye
Official Member
Official Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Below Watford Gap

Auto sign-in problems

Post: # 17232Post Popeye
Wed May 09, 2007 6:21 pm

Hi Falk

Don't know if I've screwed up somewhere but can you help.
Since I started I only had to sign in the once and everytime I bought up the site I was signed in.
Now I have to sign in every time. My oppo says it is something to do with cookies but as I have
not deleted them for ages I don't think this is the problem.
Not exactly a computer genius so can you help?

Popeye
"Non carborundum illigitimasus"

User avatar
State5
Official Member
Official Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 7:33 pm

Post: # 17233Post State5
Wed May 09, 2007 6:46 pm

Just had a thought - I assume you are ticking the 'keep me logged on' box (or what ever it's called) when you sign in each time? Silly question I know and I'm sure you are......... :D

User avatar
Popeye
Official Member
Official Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Below Watford Gap

Post: # 17234Post Popeye
Wed May 09, 2007 7:16 pm

State5 wrote:Just had a thought - I assume you are ticking the 'keep me logged on' box (or what ever it's called) when you sign in each time? Silly question I know and I'm sure you are......... :D
Ke???????
"Non carborundum illigitimasus"

User avatar
State5
Official Member
Official Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 7:33 pm

Post: # 17238Post State5
Thu May 10, 2007 3:51 am

Ok, I've just logged out and then on the login screen, below where you put your username and password is an option :

'Log me on automatically each visit'

Select this, and then click send. This SHOULD mean that you stay logged on all the time.

User avatar
falkor
Navigator
Navigator
Posts: 3184
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:48 pm
Class: 'Ranger Varient'
Location: Surrey

Post: # 17239Post falkor
Thu May 10, 2007 7:33 am

thanks State5 but it's not working for Popeye :cry:
Since I started I only had to sign in the once and everytime I bought up the site I was signed in.
Now I have to sign in every time. My oppo says it is something to do with cookies but as I have
not deleted them for ages I don't think this is the problem.
You may have no option but to try it Popeye, this is the biggest and most effective way of solving the problem - however it comes at a fairly hefty price as all your other sites that had that ticked will then LOSE the tick if you do this :?

:arrow: Cant log out

FIRST

Q do you close the site down or LOG OUT when you exit?

A you are not supposed to log out when you leave the board, or it won't work.

OK TRY logging in with a different browser

SECOND

Close the browser to this site.
In Internet Explorer, go to Tools --> Internet Options --- Delete Cookies

Then, press Delete Cookies and allow a couple of minutes for file processing
then ...... reload the site and login with autologin.

=========
side effects with Deleting Cookies
hehe this "cure" - just like a good tonic - has side effects that you should know about

unfortunately - all other websites that you logged into using "Log me on automatically each visit" will now have momentarily 'forgotten' that you ever checked that tickbox, you'll have to go back to those sites in due course and repeat that "Log me on automatically each visit" at each one

=========
is anybody ELSE having the problem that Popeye describes? he has the auto log in box ticked but is having to LOG IN each time, is this happening TO YOU??

User avatar
Popeye
Official Member
Official Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Below Watford Gap

Post: # 17269Post Popeye
Thu May 10, 2007 3:50 pm

Okay, deleated everything ie: cookies etc and now it seems to work fine.
Perhaps I just had too much junk in my computer.

Cheers guys!!!!!!!!!
"Non carborundum illigitimasus"

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic